The Viennese Tuning Collection is created to provide a completely revised and corrected edition for the modern Viennese Bass player as well as the modern Bass player who wants to play it in solo-tuning. Both parts are provided and just a few details are changed for the modern solo-tuning, concerning its playability. The edition preserves the original music with the minimal interference from the editor, that due to the circumstances in which the originals are, realized small corrections in articulations, dynamics and wrong notes. In an effort to make the Viennese tuning and its praxis more popular between modern Bassists, it was adapted to modern notation (sounding one octave down as written).

    The  Sonata for Double Bass and Viola in D Major from Johannes Matthias Sperger is presented here in an “Urtext” edition, based in the original manuscripts preserved and kindly provided by the “Landesbibliothek Mecklenburg-Vorpormmen Günther Uecker” with catalog-number 5183. As J. M. Sperger has written three different sonatas in D major for Double Bass and Viola, we have used the Thematic catalog of compositions by Johannes Sperger (1750-1812) by Adolf Meier (1990) to better identify this pieces. This sonata features with the CI/6 digit in this catalog.



J.M. Sperger - Sonata for Double Bass and Viola in D Major (Meier CI/6)

SKU: WT-0010
  • Icono social de iTunes
  • Icono social de Spotify
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter

Da_sh music web extensions

Follow us on Facebook, Youtube, Instagram and Twitter

All videos and images by

Da_sh Digital Art