top of page

David Cantalejo (Spain 1985 -)

Born in Bilbao in 1985, David Cantalejo completed his intermediate piano studies at the “Juan Crisóstomo de Arriaga” Conservatory in Bilbao, in 2004, with the pianist Agustín Vergara.

After that he decides to continue on the path of composition, graduating in 2008 in this specialty at the Conservatory of Music "Pablo Sarasate" in Navarra, by professor Joseba Torre. At this same time, he forms the flute and piano duo “Dúo Iceberg”, together with Antonio Íñigo Sánchez, guided by the flutist Begoña Agirre.

He takes up piano studies again, concluding them, in 2012, at the Escola Superior de Musica de Catalunya (ESMuC), by professor Eulàlia Solé.

During his studies, he obtained numerous awards, both in the field of composition and in the field of chamber music.

In 2019, he won the first prize, “Xavier Montsalvatge”, in the “XXX Young Composers Prize SGAE-CNDM Foundation”. He has also obtained the first prize in the IV, VI and VIII editions of the International Chamber Music Composition Competition for txistu “Durango Hiria”, to name just a few.

Since 2011, he has been a member as composer and performer of the contemporary music group from Pamplona “Garaikideak”, for which he has composed and premiered numerous works.


His music has been interpreted throughout the Spanish geography, as well as in New York, by  the Navarra Symphony Orchestra; the ensembles KOAN 2, Garaikideak, Dúo Xistra, Silboberri, Synthèse Quartet; and performers such as cellist David Johnstone, flutist Cristina Granero or pianist Adrián Blanco among others, as well as directed by Joseba Torre and José Ramón Encinar.


He is currently a resident composer of the Red de Músicas Juventudes Musicales Spain, for which he has written three works that will be released throughout the 20/21 season.

More about David Cantalejo:

More about Dimitri Sillato:


bottom of page